The cover of The well of Ascension.Title: The Well of Ascension

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Release date: November 2, 2017

Book details: Book 2 of 6: Mistborn

Pages: 880



The impossible has happened. The Lord Ruler is dead has been vanquished. But so too is Kelsier the man who masterminded the triumph. The awesome task of rebuilding the world has been left to his protege Vin; a one-time street urchin, now the most powerful Mistborn in the land.

Worryingly for her Vin has become the focus of a new religion, a development that leaves her intensely uneasy. More worryingly still the mists have become unpredictable since the Lord Ruler died and a strage vaprous entity is stalking Vin.

As the siege of Luthadel intensifies the ancient legend of the Well of Ascension offers the only glimmer of hope. But no-one knows where it is or what it can do…


The Well of Ascension is the second book in the series Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. You can read my review of The Final Empire. I loved these books and I’m glad that I decided to read these books. Right now, I’m reading the third book from this series.

“Your duty is to lead as best you can, following the dictates of your conscience. You must be true. Your Majesty, to the man you wish to become….”

The Well of Ascension starts with Elend and his crew trying to build a healthy society for Skaaa and for the people from Luthadel. Elend is the new king and he is trying to protect his people from the three armies who are trying to attack the city. Elend is the same time is trying to decide what kind of leader he is and he knows that he wants to be better than The Lord Ruler. He wants to be a good leader and to follow his conscience. 

“You must love him enough to trust his wishes, even if you disagree with them. You must respect him – no matter how wrong you think he may be, no matter how poor you think his decisions, you must respect his desire to make them. Even if one of them includes loving you.”

After Vin killed Lord Rule, she becomes an important person in this new society, and the people from Luthadel respect and believes in her. In this new society, Vin is trying to define her role and protect Elend from enemies. At the same time, she is trying to work on her relationship with Elend and to be better for him. They are trying to balance their duty and their relationship and to find a balance. Elend loves Vin and he is trying to let her decide her role in their lives and he doesn’t put pressure on her. He is really a wonderful man.

“It’s easy to believe in something when you win all the time…The losses are what define a man’s faith.”

The Well of Ascension is full of politics and turns and twists. Elend and his group really fought for their city. I loved all the characters from this book and the world created by Sanderson. The Well of Ascension is a great continuation of the first book The Final Empire. In this book, we can see the evolution of the characters and we meet new characters. The Well of Ascension is a masterpiece and I recommend everyone to read it.

Buy The Well of Ascension


Book Depository


About the author

Brandon’s major books for the second half of 2016 are The Dark Talent, the final volume in Alcatraz Smedry’s autobiographical account of his battle against the Evil Librarians who secretly rule our world, and Arcanum Unbounded, the collection of short fiction in the Cosmere universe that includes the Mistborn series and the Stormlight
Archive, among others. This collection features The Emperor’s Soul, Mistborn: Secret History, and a brand-new Stormlight Archive novella, Edgedancer.

Earlier this year he released Calamity, the finale of the #1 New York Times bestselling Reckoners trilogy that began with Steelheart .

Brandon Sanderson was born in 1975 in Lincoln, Nebraska. As a child Brandon enjoyed reading, but he lost interest in the types of titles often suggested to him, and by junior high he never cracked a book if he could help it. This changed when an eighth grade teacher gave him Dragonsbane by Barbara Hambly.

Brandon was working on his thirteenth novel when Moshe Feder at Tor Books bought the sixth he had written. Tor has published Elantris, the Mistborn trilogy and its followup The Alloy of Law, Warbreaker, and The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance, the first two in the planned ten-volume series The Stormlight Archive. He was chosen to complete Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series; 2009’s The Gathering Storm and 2010’s Towers of Midnight were followed by the final book in the series, A Memory of Light, in January 2013. Four books in his middle-grade Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series have been released in new editions by Starscape, and his novella Infinity Blade Awakening was an ebook bestseller for Epic Games accompanying their acclaimed Infinity Blade iOS video game series. Two more novellas, Legion and The Emperor’s Soul, were released by Subterranean Press and Tachyon Publications in 2012, and 2013 brought two young adult novels, The Rithmatist from Tor and Steelheart from Delacorte.

The only author to make the short list for the David Gemmell Legend Award six times in four years, Brandon won that award in 2011 for The Way of KingsThe Emperor’s Soul won the 2013 Hugo Award for Best Novella. He has appeared on the New York Times Best-Seller List multiple times, with five novels hitting the #1 spot.

Currently living in Utah with his wife and children, Brandon teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University

 Connect with him






Leave a Reply